March 6, 2014

Well hey y’all. For those of you still with me, I’d like to discuss my AMAZING weekend in Budapest, Hungary. This was my first trip outside of the Czech Republic, so I was slightly nervous to leave. I also traveled to Budapest without my program, so my friends and I had to plan every part of the trip. Paige, Becca, and I left our dorm room at 6:15 a.m, on Friday morning in order to meet our friend Maddie at the bus stop at 6:45. Of course, Maddie didn’t meet us, so we began our trip thinking we would have to leave our friend behind. Of course as I find my seat on the bus, Maddie is just chillin’ on the bus waiting for us…what a relief.

When we arrived in Budapest, we were starving after having skipped getting breakfast in order to search for Maddie. That being said, please forgive me for letting McDonalds be my first meal in Budapest. It was just so close, easy, cheap, and tempting. Don’t hate me. The rest of Friday was spent walking around, napping, eating a great traditional Czech meal, and exploring some of the famous ruin bars in Budapest.

Saturday morning came a little too quickly, but I was uncharacteristically motivated to get out of bed. We met for a FREE TOUR at the St. Stephens Basilica at 10:30 a.m. The next three hours were spent with our tour guide Rudy as he told us fun stories and showed us the “must visit” touristy spots in Budapest. These were places such as Elizabeth Square, Chain Bridge, Fisherman’s Bastion, etc. I know for a fact that I would have never found half of these places on my own, so it was worth it. After the tour, we hurried to the Central Market Hall and bought food from the vendors. When I say “food”, I mean goulash because that’s the only thing I ate all three days…..I might be obsessed…Anyway, my friends and I spent the rest of the day walking around and taking in the sights of Budapest. It was nice to not really have a plan or destination, but just to take in the sights with some great company.

After a quick dinner, we ventured to a famous touristy party called the “Magic” bath party which is held at the Lucas Baths. To any twenty something looking to visit Budapest:

A) GO TO THE LUCAS BATH PARTY.

That’s pretty much all I’ll say regarding that.

Sunday morning, we woke up and payed 1000 huffs ($4.40) for breakfast at our hostel. After, we walked around different parts of Budapest to see all we could. I noticed that Budapest and Prague share a lot of the same food, so of course I ended up having sausage and beer. We splashed around in the Széchenyi thermal baths for way longer than we should have, and I looked like a raisin for the rest of the day. The Széchenyi thermal bath is the largest one of its kind in Europe and is basically a huge hot tub surrounded by incredible Noe-Baroque architecture.
We then took a nap at our hostel in preparation for our 11 p.m – 7 a.m bus ride home. While the bus ride was a bit creepy and slightly terrifying, I wouldn’t have wished for any other way.

My heart hurts this week because all I want to do is return to Budapest. I keep reminding myself, however, HELLLOOO YOU’RE IN PRAGUE.

I’ve attached a few of my favorite photos from the weekend, enjoy and na schledanou!

-Lizzie

Image

^The four of us in front of St. Stephens Basilica.

Image

^A view of the Pest side from the Buda side.

Image

^Fisherman’s Bastion. An incredible view.

Image

^ The love of my life aka Hungarian Goulash.

Image

^The four of us at the Széchenyi bath. (Photo credit to Becca)Image

^ Selfie with my love, Budapest. Thanks for an amazing weekend!

One response to “March 6, 2014

  1. Denise Schmitt

    Lizzy I am so happy you enjoyed! Keith goes to Budapest at least once a year for work. He has spken of the fabulous food and views as well. Sending love and hugs!

Leave a Reply

