February 2, 2014

Well, I guess I’ve been traveling for a week now. I don’t really remember a more insane week than this, so it’s safe to say I’m loving every second of it.

After missing my first plane and every consecutive flight after, my luggage got lost. While normally I would have probably had a screaming/crying/panic attack about the luggage, I picked myself up and tried not to let it affect me. I know it seems like I’m writing a lot about lost luggage, but it’s a really big deal (also they found it and delivered it to my dorm so yay!!) My first day consisted of a long nap, walking around my dorm, and eating. Solid.

The rest of the week pretty much went as follows:

-Orientation at the CIEE study center from about 8 am- 2 pm

-Czech Buddies taking us around the city to familiarize ourselves

-Dinner somewhere bomb

-“Czeching”out some local clubs

The CIEE study center which is where I’ll be taking most of my classes is about a 5 minute walk from my sweet, sweet dorm room. My wonderful Czech buddy Tereza has been so helpful from helping us with the metro to showing us the best beer in town.

The only exception to this was on Saturday when I toured around with two friends for the first time. Even though we didn’t have a Czech buddy with us, we were able to maneuver around the city by ourselves without getting lost (a first).

I realize how lucky I am to be in my position. The people in my program are fantastic, and I am so in love with Prague already. Even though I’ve been running on little to no sleep this entire week, I wouldn’t have skipped any moment.

Tomorrow, my intensive Czech classes begin so maybe I’ll be able to say more then Dobry Den (Hello) and Dekuji (Thank you!)

 

Leave a Reply

